Schottey Musings

NOT Just another WordPress site

Advocare 24-Day Challenge: Breakfast Ideas

leave a comment »

I’m eight days into the challenge and I’ve dropped eight pounds! Even more exciting…I’ve dropped three and a half inches from my waist. I’m ridiculously happy with the results, but not satisfied…not yet.

Each morning, I eat roughly the same thing. Two eggs with a TON of veggies and a side of oatmeal with cinnamon and fresh/frozen fruit. Some days (not many), I’ll swap out the oatmeal for a whole-grain/double-fiber wrap. The Advocare guide says breakfast should be Protein, a complex carb and a fruit. Veggies can be added anytime! The meal fills me up and isn’t much of a difference from what I’d normally eat except for eschewing the unhealthy/processed add ins like sugar, salt, cheese, etc.

 

Let’s compare my “Advocare Breakfast” to my “Usual Breakfast”:

Advocare Breakfast—2 Whole Eggland’s Best Eggs, 1/2 tomato, 1/2 cup spinach, 1/4 cup of red peppers, 1/4 cup of onions, 1/4 cup of white mushrooms, 1/4 Avocado, 1/4 Cup Old Fashioned Oatmeal, 1/2 Cup of Strawberries.

383 Calories, 34 Carbs, 7 grams dietary fiber, 18 grams fat, 21 grams protein, 148 grams sodium, 10 grams sugar, 822mg potassium, 66% DV Vitamin A, 210% DV Vitamin C, 7% DV Calcium, 24% DV Iron

Usual Breakfast—2 Whole Eggland’s Best Eggs, 1/4 Cup cheddar cheese, 1/2 Cup spinach, 1/4 cup onions, 1/4 cup white mushrooms…2 slices Arnold’s 100% whole white bread, 2 TBL Kraft Mayo w/Olive Oil, 1 “liberal squirt” of Sriracha, 1 dash of salt.

615 calories, 51 carbs, 30 grams fat, 8 grams dietary fiber, 31 grams protein, 1261 mg sodium(!!!), 12 grams sugar,  440mg potassium, 76% DV Vitamin A, 11% DV Vitamin C, 41% DV Calcium, 22% DV Iron

 

So, I’m trading calcium, some protein and a little Vitamin A for a huge reduction in calories, carbs and fat. As far as sodium goes…wow. The usual breakfast is halfway to the daily recommended allowance of sodium and almost the entire way to the recommended intake for people with high blood pressure and/or who are overweight.

Meanwhile, I’m getting double the potassium (helps muscles and nerves function, helps prevent high blood pressure, manages electrolytes) and an absurd amount of Vitamin C (eliminates free radicals, helps iron absorption, improves Vitamin E production).

Dairy isn’t completely outlawed in the weight-loss challenge. The guide says that in moderation, it can be a snack. I’ll add some skim milk, yogurt or string cheese to my diet once the “cleanse” phase is over (Day 11—Monday!). Calcium is shown to help weight-loss and fat burning, so I’m anxious to get some more natural sources back into my diet.

For those who aren’t as into eggs as I am (seriously though, you should be!), need more variety, or don’t have as much time to cook that kind of breakfast in the AM, here are some other breakfast ideas:

 

Enjoy!

Written by Michael Schottey

April 12, 2013 at 1:11 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

