Schottey Musings

NOT Just another WordPress site

Christopher Hitchens Dead at 62…A Christian’s Thoughts

leave a comment »

The world has lost one of its favorite modern philosophers and the church militant has lost one of its greatest modern foes.

How should Christians deal with the death of someone that so vehemently opposed everything we hold true? As Americans, many rejoiced in the death of Osama Bin Laden, but those who reveled in it went too far. With a man like Hitchens, whose attacks were purely academic, it seems even poorer taste to give thanks in his passing.

So, I won’t.

I will not mourn him either.

Dirty fact about me–I liked Hitchens’ writing. Never have I so thoroughly enjoyed something I so ardently disagreed with. When I say “like” or “enjoy,” let me be clear–Hitchens wrote in a way that I found profound and engaging. At the same time, I found the content of his writing reprehensible and completely misguided. I would feel guilty about writing that, but I am confident he would feel the same about my devotions and I am also confident in the truth of God’s word.

But why would confident Christians shy away from the work of Hitchens? Just as the writing of C.S. Lewis teaches my head to say what my heart already knows, the writing of Hitchens teaches me to better object to what I already know is false. Iron sharpens iron.

I would have loved to meet Hitchens. I like to think I would have had the courage to speak God’s truth to him–even in the face of his famous and learned opposition.

Yet, as the world says “Rest in Peace” to a man of the world, I cannot. What rest is there without the God who says, “come to me all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest?” What peace is there without the “Prince of Peace?” According to Hitchens’ beliefs, he wouldn’t have wanted your platitudes anyway. If there is no afterlife, there is no rest–just nothingness.

So instead, I pray today–like every other day–that God protect his church and keep it in the one true faith until he bring his own into life everlasting.

Written by Michael Schottey

December 16, 2011 at 9:02 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

